Introduction of Golestan Palace
Golestan Palace in Tehran is one of the most spectacular places and most beautiful places you will visit on your travel to Iran. This great palace is a fine example of Persian art, history and architecture in Tehran city. It is the highlight of capital and it receives many Iranian and foreign visitors on a daily basis.
The “Palace of flowers” is a true masterpiece of the Qajar era, one the oldest of all historic monuments in the capital of the Islamic Republic and since mid 2013 listed as UNESCO world heritage site.
During the Pahlavi era Golestan Palace used for formal royal receptions. The most important ceremonies held in the Palace during the Pahlavi era that the coronation of Reza Khan in Takht-e Marmar and the coronation of Mohammad Reza Pahlavi in the Museum Hall.
In its present state, Golestan Palace is the result of roughly 400 years construction and renovations. The buildings at the contemporary location each have a unique history.
Places of Golestan Palace
The complex of Golestan Palace consists of 17 structures, including palaces, museums, and halls. Almost all of this complex built during the 200-year ruling of the Qajar kings. These tourist places is one of the historical places in iran.
These palaces used for many different occasions such as coronations and other important celebrations. It also consists of three main archives, including the photographic archive, the library of manuscripts, and the archive of documents.
Shams-ol-Emareh (Edifice of the Sun)
The tallest building in the complex, the structure is a lovely blend of European and Iranian styles and constructed so that Nasser-ol-Din Shah could enjoy panoramic views over the city.
The building marked by two identical towers topped with turrets and the facade decorated with stained glass windows and elegant arches.
Talar-e Aineh (Hall of Mirror)
Talar-e Aineh is the most famous of the Palace hall and one of the best tourist places. This relatively small hall is famous for its extraordinary mirror work. The Hall designed by Haj Abdoul Hossein Memar bashi (Sanie-ol-Molk). Yahya Khan Moetamed-ol-Molk, the Minister of Architecture, acted as consultant to the designer
Emarat Badgir (Building of the Wind Towers)
Wind Tower Building sits on the southern wing of Golestan Garden. Built during the reign of Fath Ali Shah, it was dramatically modified at the time of Nassereddin Shah.
Under the hall there is a large summer chamber. Each corner bears a tall wind tower covered with blue, yellow and black glazed tiles and a golden cupola. Wind coming through these towers cools the summer chamber, hall and rooms.
The building is flanked by two rooms known as goshvareh (earrings). There is a central room which boasts the finest stained glass window in Golestan Palace.
Outside, there are four wind towers of blue, yellow and black glazed tiles and a golden cupola. The wind towers are constructed to allow the cooling wind to move through the structure.
Talar-e Berelian (Hall of Brilliance)
Talar-e Berelian was named so for it is adorned by the brilliant mirror work of Iranian artisans. The Berelian Hall is famous for its mirror work and chandeliers. An oil painting by Yahya Khan Sanie-ol-Molk Ghafari, showing the decorations of this hall before renovations carried out by Mozafar-ol-Din Shah (r. 1896-1907). exists in the Golestan Palace.
This building replaced the Narenjestan building in the north of Adj Hall or sofre Khaneh. All the chinaware that were dedicated to Qajar kings by the European kings were taken to this room and was arranged in show cases which were built for this purpose.
All the chinaware that exists in this room is rare and beautiful. Among them these are the most exceptional:
1-The chinaware that shows the Napoleonian wars dedicated by Napoleon the first.
2-The chinaware dedicated by King Nicoli the first.
3-Chinaware studded with gems and jewels dedicated by Queen Victoria.
4-The chinaware which was dedicated by King Vilhelm to the Iranian crown prince.
5-A set made by Melacit stone dedicated by Alexandre the third.
Talar-e Adj (Hall of Ivory)
Talar-e Adj is a large hall used as a dinning room. It decorated with gifts presented to Nasser-ol-Din Shah by European monarchs.
Talar Almas (Hall of Diamonds)
Talar Almas located in the southern wing of Golestan Palace next to the Badgir Building. It called Hall of Diamonds because of the exceptional mirror work inside the building.
Located between the Badgir and Almas Hall, the Chador Khaneh (House of Tents) was used as a warehouse for royal tents.
The Aks khaneh (House of Photographs) is a large summer chamber under the Badgir. As with the Hows Khaneh, this room cooled using a cooling system that pumped water from a subterranean stream (qanat) into a small pond. Due to the harmful effects of humidity, this system is no longer in use. This room has undergone major renovations and now, used as an exhibition space for photographs of the Qajar period.
The spectacular terrace known as Takht-e-Marmar (Marble Throne) built in 1806 by order of Fath Ali Shah Qajar (r. 1797-1834). Adorned by paintings, marble-carvings, tile-work, stucco, mirrors, enamel, woodcarvings, and lattice windows; the throne embodies the finest of Iranian architecture. The Marble Throne is one of the oldest buildings of the historic Arg. The existing throne, which situated in the middle of the terrace (iwan), made of the famous yellow marble of Yazd province.
Works of European painters presented to the Qajar court that housed in the Howz Khaneh.
The Howz Khaneh used as a summer chamber during the Qajar ear. A special cooling system pumped water form a subterranean system of streams (qanats) – in this case the king’s qanat – into small ponds inside the chambers. Hows means pond, thus the name Hows Khaneh. The system designed to pass through as many summer rooms as was necessary.
Built as the residence of Queen Elizabeth II during her short visit to Iran in 1955, The Emarat-e- Khabgah (Siesta House) is the most recent addition to Golestan Palace.
The building designated to house the Royal Manuscripts Library and the Qajar photograph collection.
Dating back to 1759, this building was a part of the interior residence of Karim Khan Zand. The basic structure of the Khalvat-e-Karim Khani is similar to Takht-e-Marmar. Like the latter, it is a terrace (iwan). There is a small marble throne inside the terrace. The structure is much smaller than Takht-e-Marmar and it has much less ornamentation.
This building located under the Salam Hall or Museum. It indeed a part of the first Iranian museum, which built by Mohamad Ebrahim Khan Memar Bashi.
In Nasser-0l-Din shah’s period, this building used as a warehouse for the china and silverware, which dedicated to Qajar kings.
In the Pahlavi period, this warehouse turned in to a museum to expose the rare gifts, which given to the Qajar kings.
Right now in addition to the gifts, some rare objects kept in this museum, some of them are as follows:
Helmet of king Esmail Safavid.
Bow and arrows of King Nader.
Armband of Fath Ali Shah.
The collection of Qajar Seals.
Aga Mohamad khan’s crown.
A decorated ostrich egg.
The original collection of the museum hall, now scattered among Tehran’s many museums. However, the paintings of the royal court, now kept at the Golestan Palace – with the European paints housed in the Hows Khaneh and the works of Iranian painters housed in the Neggar Khaneh. Meant to show the evolution of painting in Iran during the Qajar era, the works of Iranian painters exhibited in two sections.
Talar Salam (Reception Hall)
Talar Salam originally designed to be a museum. After the Takht-e-Tavoos (Iranian’s famous Jeweled Peacock Throne) moved to the Royal jewels collection at the Central Bank, this hall designated to hold special receptions in the presence of the king, hence the name Talar Salam.
Tourists and envoys from European courts received in the Arg during the reign of Nasser-ol-Din Shah, spoke of this outstanding hall comparing it to its European counterparts.
This hall has exquisite mirrors work. The ceiling and walls decorated with plaster molding. The floors covered with mosaic.
During the reign of Nasser-ol-Din Shah, this hall used to exhibit Iranian and European paintings alongside gifts presented to the Iranian court. Royal jewels also exhibited inside glass cases. Now, these jewels housed at the Royal Jewels Museum of the Central Bank.
How to access to Golestan Palace
Golestan Palace Location: Arg square,Panzdae Khordar street,Tehran,Iran.
It can be easily reached while you are in Tehran either by public transportation like taxis, buses or underground.
– Using the Tehran metro line 1, Panzdae Khordad station
– Using bus terminal of Emam Khomeini square and Qurkhane
Some of the nearby hotels:
– “Shahriar” Hotel with an approximate time of 10 minute.
– The Golestan Hotel in “Hafez” street, with an approximate time of 15 minute.
Some of the other tourist attractions near this complex are:
– Tehran metropolis market (one of the best tourist places of capital city of Iran)
– Pamenar Minaret (one of the historical places in iran)
– Baharestan palace
– Stamp museum
– Sepah bank coin museum